WEB_Collage2.jpg
Preaching4.jpg
WEB_Collage2.jpg

Mission & Beliefs


Mission & Beliefs

SCROLL DOWN

Mission & Beliefs


Mission & Beliefs


our mission.


Summit Church exists to glorify God by making disciples who
represent the gospel to every man, woman and child.
 

When Summit officially launched on the campus of Florida Gulf Coast University in September of 2003, we knew that God was calling us to make disciples of Jesus that would represent the gospel to every man, woman and child in Southwest Florida. Now, more than a decade later, with three locations in Gateway, Fort Myers and Naples, we continue to have a growing burden for the lost, not only in SWFL but also throughout our state, nation and world.

Our ministry is built upon God-glorifying, gospel-centered, missionally-driven, disciple-making activity in hopes of becoming and reproducing people who demonstrate the outcomes of biblical discipleship. And as we pursue intimacy with God, allow the Spirit to produce fruit in us, steward our lives well, engage in the mission and share our grace story with others, our community will have repeated opportunities to hear, see and respond to the good news of Jesus Christ. All for His sake and His glory.

 

OUR DISTINCTIVE VALUES.

DistinctiveValues_God.jpg
DistinctiveValues_Gospel.jpg

GOD-
GLORIFYING

We are committed to knowing God, worshiping God, and being led by God. 

GOSPEL-
CENTERED 

We are committed to embracing the gospel, applying the gospel and proclaiming the gospel.  

DistinctiveValues_Discipleship.jpg

MISSIONALLY-DRIVEN

We are committed to embracing God’s mission, understanding what the mission demands of us and living as missional ambassadors. 

DistinctiveValues_Discipleship.jpg

DISCIPLE-
MAKING

We are committed to seeing people trust Christ, obey Christ and imitate Christ.


OUR DISCIPLESHIP OUTCOMES.

INTIMACY WITH GOD

A detailed knowledge and understanding of God's heart and activity that
comes from pursuing Him as our greatest treasure.  

FRUIT OF THE SPIRIT

The acting presence of the Holy Spirit in the life of the Church that demonstrates the
character of God and distinguishes His people from an unbelieving world.  

STEWARDSHIP OF LIFE

Faithfully using everything God has entrusted to us to reflect His glory.  

PERSONAL MISSION

Understanding the mission of God and discovering how he has uniquely gifted me to love
and serve His church and the places where I live, work, and play.  

GRACE STORY

Embracing the fullness of the gospel and being transformed by it in such a way
that we desire to live out and share God's message with others.

 


our beliefs.


GOD

There is one God who eternally exists in three equally divine persons – the Father, Son and Holy Spirit. He is the beginning and end of all things. He is the Creator of the universe and author of all life. All history moves toward Him and finds its culmination in His sovereign plan.

(Genesis 1; John 1:1; Ephesians 4:6; Colossians 1:15-23; Revelation 19:6)

JESUS

Jesus, the Son, was born of a virgin and came to earth because of God’s love for humanity. In living a fully human/fully divine life He is both our example and victorious King. He inaugurated God’s kingdom on earth and died for the sins of His people. He conquered death and rose from the grave before ascending to the Father where He reigns with Him. He will return one day in power and glory. He is our Savior and Lord. He is the only Way, the only Truth, and the only Life. 

(Isaiah 9:6; John 1:1-18; Matthew 27:54; John 14:6-7; Colossians 1:15-23; 1 Timothy 1:15)

HOLY SPIRIT

The Holy Spirit is the fully active power of God at work in the world today. He was sent to comfort and to reveal Truth. He equips, enables, and empowers believers to live out the ordained purposes for their lives. 

(John 14:15-27; 1 Corinthians 2:10-16)

SALVATION

Salvation is God’s gift of redemption for His Church. It is the free gift of grace received by faith alone in Jesus Christ to all who would repent of their sins and believe in his finished work on the cross. Salvation cannot be found outside of the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus.  

(John 1:12; John 14:6; Acts 4:12; Ephesians 2:8-9)

HUMANITY

Created in God’s own image, humanity is God’s crowning work in creation. Our primary purpose is to glorify God along with all of creation. Human beings are sinful at birth, and the only hope for humanity is found in the finished work of Jesus. 

(Genesis 1:27; Psalm 8:3-6; Psalm 51:5; Romans 3:23; Romans 5:12; Ephesians 2:3)

THE GOSPEL

The gospel is the good news that God, our righteous King, because of his great love for us, sent Jesus, the Son, to live, die, and be raised in our place for the punishment of our sins, so that, through faith, we are reconciled to God in order that, by the Spirit, we might live as kingdom citizens in relationship with and in representation of Him. 

(Luke 2:10-11; Luke 4:14-21; John 3:16-17; Romans 1:16-17)

THE BIBLE

The Bible is wholly authentic, inspired, fully trustworthy, and without error in the original writings. There is nothing that can be added to it or taken from it. The Bible is the revealed word of God and is useful for teaching, encouraging, and correcting. 

(Psalm 19:7-14; 2 Timothy 3:16-17)

THE CHURCH

The Church is God’s chosen instrument to bring His Gospel to every man, woman and child. There is one Church of which Jesus Christ is the head. The Church is made up of every person who places their trust in the finished work of Jesus. 

(Matthew 28:18-20; Acts 2:41-47; Ephesians 3; Ephesians 4:1-13)

Preaching4.jpg

Our Leadership


OUR LEADERSHIP

Our Leadership


OUR LEADERSHIP

INTERDEPENDENT LEADERSHIP

At Summit Church we practice what is referred to as an “Interdependent Leadership” model. Simply defined, God gives the gift of leadership to the Church and calls a plurality of elders with complimentary abilities and functions to serve Him collectively to equip God’s people to carry out His purposes in the world (Ephesians 4:11-12). The primary metaphor to describe the New Testament Church is the “body” comprised of individual members serving as differing parts (I Corinthians 12:8-27) with Jesus Christ as the only appointed “Head” of His “body”.

Furthermore we see the model of leadership established in the very nature of our Triune God; (1 Corinthians 12:4-7) three distinct persons (Father, Son and Holy Spirit) with three distinct roles, acting in complete interdependence with one another. Interdependent Leadership is not only biblically grounded in God’s design for His body, and modeled by His very nature, but it also emphasizes the “heart” that God desires for His leadership (Mathew 20:20-28).

Currently, Summit has six directing elders, each having a variety of complimentary functions and gifts, who lead together under the authority and headship of Jesus Christ. No one man has more authority than the other, but instead, each mutually submits to and empowers the others to lead where they are most gifted. This provides a high level of accountability, cultivates humility and trust, and gives confidence to the body to know that the elders must collectively be convinced of God’s will for the church before acting.

We realize our structure of not having one primary leader is not normative. However we believe that Interdependent Leadership, collectively leading out God’s mission for His Church, can more completely mobilize and disciple the body to carry out its destiny in the world.


meet our staff.


OUR DIRECTING ELDERS

Dr. Jamin Stinziano
Jamin@summitlife.com

 Nate Johnson Nate@summitlife.com

Nate Johnson
Nate@summitlife.com

Orlando Cabrera
Orlando@summitlife.com

Jim Hines
Jim@summitlife.com

 John DeAngelis John@summitlife.com

John DeAngelis
John@summitlife.com

 

university congregation staff

Kyle Balcerzak
Executive Pastor of Operations
Kyle@summitlife.com

Mark Schaap
Student Ministries Director
Mark@summitlife.com

Evan Lemkuil
Recovery Ministry Director
Evan@summitlife.com

Andy Graham
Worship Pastor
Andy@summitlife.com

Megan Overmyer
Recovery Ministry Coordinator
Megan@summitlife.com

 Amanda McCullough Kids Ministry Coordinator Amanda@summitlife.com

Amanda McCullough
Kids Ministry Coordinator
Amanda@summitlife.com

Ashlyn Gibbs
Ministry Coordinator
Ashlyn@summitlife.com

 Stephanie Neis Executive Assistant Stephanie@summitlife.com

Stephanie Neis
Executive Assistant
Stephanie@summitlife.com

 
 

naples CONGREGATION staff

Aaron Lundquist
Executive Pastor
Aaron@summitlife.com

 Ashley Fischer Summit Kids Coordinator Ashley@summitlife.com

Ashley Fischer
Summit Kids Coordinator
Ashley@summitlife.com

Wendy Caudill
Ministry Coordinator
Wendy@summitlife.com

 Mathis Turley Worship Leader Mathis@summitlife.com

Mathis Turley
Worship Leader
Mathis@summitlife.com

 Dave Harvey Teaching Pastor Dave@summitlife.com

Dave Harvey
Teaching Pastor
Dave@summitlife.com

 Josh Stewart Family & Student Pastor JoshStewart@summitlife.com

Josh Stewart
Family & Student Pastor
JoshStewart@summitlife.com

 
 

gateway CONGREGATION staff

Adam Alexander
Campus Pastor
Adam@summitlife.com

 Matt Cantwell Student Ministries Director Matt@summitlife.com

Matt Cantwell
Student Ministries Director
Matt@summitlife.com

Judd Wright
Worship Pastor
Judd@summitlife.com

 Jeremiah Taylor Pastor of Care & Community Jeremiah@summitlife.com

Jeremiah Taylor
Pastor of Care & Community
Jeremiah@summitlife.com

Bethany McCleaf
Ministry Coordinator
Bethany@summitlife.com

 Erica Irwin Family Ministries Coordinator Erica@summitlife.com

Erica Irwin
Family Ministries Coordinator
Erica@summitlife.com

 

central ministries staff

Joe O'Neal
Pastor of Central Communications
Joe@summitlife.com

 Vicky Stinziano Every Child Initiative Coordinator Vicky@summitlife.com

Vicky Stinziano
Every Child Initiative Coordinator
Vicky@summitlife.com

 Chris Minott Summit Biblical Counseling Director Chris@summitlife.com

Chris Minott
Summit Biblical Counseling Director
Chris@summitlife.com

Stephen Johnson
College Ministry Director
Stephen@summitlife.com

Josh Noom
Graphic Designer
Josh@summitlife.com

 Linda Ford Central Ministries Coordinator Linda@summitlife.com

Linda Ford
Central Ministries Coordinator
Linda@summitlife.com

 Mason Kupfer AVL Director Mason@summitlife.com

Mason Kupfer
AVL Director
Mason@summitlife.com

Joy Wood
Operations Coordinator
Joy@summitlife.com

J.R. Lackner
Facilities Coordinator
Jr@summitlife.com

 

Our residents

 Rudy Ramos Pastoral Resident Rudy@summitlife.com

Rudy Ramos
Pastoral Resident
Rudy@summitlife.com

 Luis Zamot Pastoral Resident Luis@summitlife.com

Luis Zamot
Pastoral Resident
Luis@summitlife.com

 Diego Sanchez Pastoral Resident Diego@summitlife.com

Diego Sanchez
Pastoral Resident
Diego@summitlife.com