INTERDEPENDENT LEADERSHIP

At Summit Church we practice what is referred to as an “Interdependent Leadership” model. Simply defined, God gives the gift of leadership to the Church and calls a plurality of elders with complimentary abilities and functions to serve Him collectively to equip God’s people to carry out His purposes in the world (Ephesians 4:11-12). The primary metaphor to describe the New Testament Church is the “body” comprised of individual members serving as differing parts (I Corinthians 12:8-27) with Jesus Christ as the only appointed “Head” of His “body”.

Furthermore we see the model of leadership established in the very nature of our Triune God; (1 Corinthians 12:4-7) three distinct persons (Father, Son and Holy Spirit) with three distinct roles, acting in complete interdependence with one another. Interdependent Leadership is not only biblically grounded in God’s design for His body, and modeled by His very nature, but it also emphasizes the “heart” that God desires for His leadership (Mathew 20:20-28).

Currently, Summit has six directing elders, each having a variety of complimentary functions and gifts, who lead together under the authority and headship of Jesus Christ. No one man has more authority than the other, but instead, each mutually submits to and empowers the others to lead where they are most gifted. This provides a high level of accountability, cultivates humility and trust, and gives confidence to the body to know that the elders must collectively be convinced of God’s will for the church before acting.

We realize our structure of not having one primary leader is not normative. However we believe that Interdependent Leadership, collectively leading out God’s mission for His Church, can more completely mobilize and disciple the body to carry out its destiny in the world.


meet our staff.


OUR DIRECTING ELDERS

  Dr. Jamin Stinziano
  Jamin@summitlife.com

Jack Stinziano Jack@summitlife.com

Jack Stinziano
Jack@summitlife.com

  Orlando Cabrera
  Orlando@summitlife.com

  Jim Hines
  Jim@summitlife.com

  John DeAngelis   John@summitlife.com

  John DeAngelis
  John@summitlife.com

 

university congregation staff

  Adam Alexander
  College Pastor
  Adam@summitlife.com
 

  Kyle Balcerzak
  Executive Pastor of Operations
  Kyle@summitlife.com

  Paul Bush
  Student Ministries Pastor
  Paul@summitlife.com
 

  Evan Lemkuil
  Recovery Ministry Director
  Evan@summitlife.com
 

  Desiree Mortensen
  Women's Ministry Director
  Desiree@summitlife.com
 

  Megan Overmyer
  Recovery Ministry Coordinator
  Megan@summitlife.com
 

  Stephanie Neis
  Family Ministries Coordinator
  Stephanie@summitlife.com

 

  Andy Graham
  Worship Pastor
  Andy@summitlife.com
 

  Linda Ford
  Ministry Support
  Linda@summitlife.com
 

  Ashlyn Gibbs
  Ministry Coordinator
  Ashlyn@summitlife.com
 

  Joy Wood
  Family Ministries Coordinator
  Joy@summitlife.com
 

  Mark Schaap
  Family Ministries Pastor
  Mark@summitlife.com
 

 

naples CONGREGATION staff

  Aaron Lundquist
  Family Ministries Pastor
  Aaron@summitlife.com
 

  Jason Nigh
  Student Ministries Pastor
  Jason@summitlife.com
 

  Wendy Caudill
  Ministry Coordinator
  Wendy@summitlife.com
 

Dave Harvey Teaching Pastor Dave@summitlife.com

Dave Harvey
Teaching Pastor
Dave@summitlife.com

 
 

gateway CONGREGATION staff

  Jeremy Emory
  Campus Pastor
  Jeremy@summitlife.com
 

  Judd Wright
  Worship Pastor
  Judd@summitlife.com
 

  Bethany McCleaf
  Ministry Coordinator
  Bethany@summitlife.com
 

 
 

central ministries staff

  Nate Johnson
  Executive Pastor of Central Ministry
  Nate@summitlife.com

  Joe O'Neal
  Pastor of Central Communications
  Joe@summitlife.com
 

  Stephen Johnson
  Central Ministry Coordinator
  Stephen@summitlife.com
 

  Diego Sanchez
  Operations Coordinator
  Diego@summitlife.com
 

  Josh Noom
  Graphic Designer
  Josh@summitlife.com
 

  J.R. Lackner
  Facilities Coordinator
  Jr@summitlife.com
 

 
 

Our residents

  Mathis Turley   Worship   Mathis@summitlife.com  

  Mathis Turley
  Worship
  Mathis@summitlife.com
 

  Matt Cantwell
  Student Ministries
  Matt@summitlife.com
 

  Elizabeth Gonzalez
  Family Ministries
  Lizzie@summitlife.com